LibGuides: Emergency Medical Services: Reference Sources

Reference Sources

Reference sources include a wide variety of publications, such as subject-specific encyclopedias and dictionaries, handbooks, almanacs, atlases, and chronologies. These sources come in both print and electronic form.They are designed to be consulted as needed, rather than read from cover to cover.

These sources do lots of useful things: they may provide well-organized, brief overviews of a topic, including background information on that topic. They may also provide definitions, statistics, graphs, maps, and other useful types of information. In addition, references sources frequently refer you to related books, articles, and other helpful materials. They may help you generate ideas for research topics, or help you narrow down an overly broad topic. For all of these reasons, reference sources are often a great place to start your research.

Most print reference sources must be used in the library. The scanners in the STLCC Libraries allow you to scan information to your flash drive or send files to your email.

Online Reference Sources

These reference sources are accessible from any campus computer, and by logging into the database from off campus (help in connecting from home).

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an online, searchable database of reference books on many topics, including career and health information.
Online reference library that provides access to a growing selection of reference books. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles from art to accountancy and literature to law. Credo Reference generates a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere within the library.

Credo Reference Subject Guides
Magill's Medical Guide This link opens in a new window
Magill's Medical Guide is an encyclopedia of medical information. This database also includes other resources from Salem Health, including Cancer.
A compendium of 1000+ articles on medical information suitable for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers. The database also includes Salem Health: Cancer, which covers more than 800 topics of crucial interest to students, patients, caregivers, and others who have received a diagnosis or are associated with those who have cancer. Virtually all of the content from the printed versions of Magill’s Medical Guide and Salem Health: Cancer is available online, including illustrations and sidebars, indexes, and appendixes. There are direct links to cross-references and key terms in the glossary, and article citation information is included with every article.

Download Student Guide