Finding Images

After searching for images using Google Image Search, click the Tools button, then click on the Usage Rights drop-down menu and select any one of the reuse options to find pictures and images that are free for you to use.

After searching for images using Bing's Image Search, click on the Filter button, then click on the License drop-down menu and select any one of the options below the word "All." This will generate a list of images you can reuse for free.

A search portal for finding content you can share, use and remix.

The Commons was launched on January 16 2008, when it released its pilot project in partnership with The Library of Congress. The program has two main objectives:
1.) To increase access to publicly-held photography collections
2.) To provide a way for the general public to contribute information and knowledge

U.S Federal government-produced images and documents are in the public domain with no copyright restrictions.

A repository for public domain pictures. Contains free vectors, free drawings and free photos. You can use any Pixabay image without attribution in digital and printed form, even for commercial applications.

Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language.

Free stock photos for websites and commercial use.

Compfight is an image search engine tailored to efficiently locate images for blogs, comps, inspiration, and research. It makes use of the flickr™ API, but is not affiliated with flickr.

Explore millions of items from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings, they’re all here.

FoodiesFeed offers thousands of beautiful realistic free food pictures in high resolution. It’s the perfect stock photo site for food bloggers.

Freeimages is a friendly community of photography addicts who offer their works to those who need them free of charge. The gallery contains over 350,000 quality stock photos by more than 30,000 photographers.

Source for free stock photos and clip art. The collection contains over 14,000 free images available in a variety of commercial and editorial licenses, including public domain, creative commons, and custom agreements.
All images on this site are completely free to download and use. No payment or registration is required, although you must abide by the Image License and Usage Terms listed on the photo download page.

Freestock offers a wide range of high quality photos all released under Creative Commons CC0.

Picography contains beautiful free stock photos submitted by Dave Meier and various other photographers. All photos are released under Creative Commons CC0.

This tool is designed to help researchers, scholars, and educators discover the variety of resources available across the Getty's collections, which include collections in each the four programs: the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, the Getty Foundation, and the Getty Research Institute. Users can use the tool to browse our collections broadly, by type of resource (i.e., paintings, books, archives), or to search directly for assets related to very specific subjects—historical periods, artists, object types, etc.

Discover exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail, from hidden gems to masterpieces.

Gratisography offers free high-resolution pictures you can use on your personal and commercial projects. New awesome pictures are added weekly and are free of copyright restrictions. All pictures are captured by Ryan McGuire of Bells Design.

The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.

MorgueFile contains photographs freely contributed by many artists to be used in creative projects by visitors to the site.

NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

To find images within OAIster:
1.) From the homepage, click "Advanced Search."
2.) In the section called Narrow your search, look for Format and select "---- Downloadable image"
3.) enter your search terms in the boxes above and click on the "Search" button.

Pexels provides high quality and completely free stock photos licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license. All photos are nicely tagged, searchable and also easy to discover through their discover pages.

A massive library of handpicked free stock photos you won’t find elsewhere. Built for startups, freelancers & makers who are sick of tacky stock photos. Free to use commercially and editorially–no attribution required.

StockSnap adds hundreds of images on a daily basis and all photos are released under creative commons public domain – no attribution required.

Over 1 million free high-resolution images brought to you by the world’s most generous community of photographers.

Over 3 million icons, plus photograph collections. Icons are free to use with attribution, but a purchase or subscription is required for more features such as background, color, or shape editing.

The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.