Finding Images

The ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world. The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more.

Users can do keyword or advanced searching, or browse by collection, classification, or geography. Results can be sorted by date, creator, or title, and filtered by geography, date range or classification. Users can view images and image data, zoom in on and pan images, and experience 360 degree panoramas through QTVR images. Organize images into groups, or print and save images and related data to other hardware (e.g. CD, memory stick, hard drive). Upload and manage personal images and sound files in ARTstor. Tools for sharing include saving, emailing, and printing citations for images or image groups; downloading image groups for use in presentation software such as PowerPoint, KeyNote, and ARTstor's Offline Image Viewer (OIV); exporting citations for images or image groups into EndNote, ProCite, RefWorks, Reference Manager, or a text file; and generating URL links to images and groups for integration with local course management software and sharing with students.

Please read Use restrictions and see the Knowledge Base for further help on resources and testing.
System Requirements.

Cultural information for over 200 countries is included in the World Edition. U.S. States and Canadian provinces are also covered. In addition to the country/state/province reports, the database includes a photo gallery with thousands of images, downloadable slideshows, downloadable and streaming videos, interviews with native children and adults from countries around the world, five recipes for each country, short biographies of five to ten famous people for each country, maps and flags, sound files providing national anthems and country name pronunciation, state bird sound files, and more. The database is keyword searchable.

FAQs