Human Trafficking

Videos can be a rich source of information for research, adding visual, sound, and movement to illustrate concepts beyond what can be described in words. Feature films and documentaries on DVD are available in each campus library, and are listed in the library catalog along with the books. Streaming video can be accessed through the library databases. These range from short educational and historical film clips to full-length movies and documentaries. 

You can use the video search below (and on our home page) to find films and videos in different formats. DVDs are available for checkout and can be requested to be sent from one campus to another. Many films are available to stream. 

Search our Films on Demand video collection.

or go to the Streaming Media Guide for more collections and information.

Ready to learn?  These well-researched and passionate talks offer information, ideas, advice and inspiration.

Noy Thrupkaew: Human trafficking is all around you. This is how it works (18:51)

Behind the everyday bargains we all love — the $10 manicure, the unlimited shrimp buffet — is a hidden world of forced labor to keep those prices at rock bottom. Noy Thrupkaew investigates human trafficking – which flourishes in the US and Europe, as well as developing countries – and shows us the human faces behind the exploited labor that feeds global consumers.

Kevin Bales: How to combat modern slavery (18:01)

In this moving yet pragmatic talk, Kevin Bales explains the business of modern slavery, a multibillion-dollar economy that underpins some of the worst industries on earth. He shares stats and personal stories from his on-the-ground research — and names the price of freeing every slave on earth right now.

Art provides an important and powerful means of expression for victims of human migration and for those trying to raise awareness. The mission of ArtWorks for Freedom is to "build widespread public awareness of human trafficking and modern slavery, and inspire creative action toward its eradication."

An article about the Red Sand Project and the artist who created it:  “An Art Project Ensures Victims of Human Trafficking Don’t Fall Through the Cracks.”

The Films on Demand (FOD) database contains thousands of films and film clip segments on many topics. Films can be streamed and viewed in their entirety or by segment, making them ideal for presentations. You can create a private and free user account to keep track of favorites and to create playlists. Only STLCC students, faculty and staff have access to Films on Demand.

You can search Films on Demand by using keywords in the search box, and then choosing one of these three options: film title, segment or transcript . You can also navigate FOD by topic. Try a keyword search for human trafficking and also for sex trafficking. 

Films on Demand and other databases offered by STLCC Libraries are accessible from any campus computer and by logging into the database from off campus (help in connecting from home).