Resources - SOC 211 Substance Use, Abuse, and Dependence - Epperson - 2023

Use ArcherSearch to Find Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles

ArcherSearch is a tool that allows you to search for books, articles, guides, and library web pages all at one time.

Once you have entered a search, you'll have an opportunity to limit to peer-reviewed articles. The advantage of ArcherSearch is that it searches many databases at the same time. You can begin a search by entering it in the box below.

Use Databases to Find Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles

Another option is to search one database at a time.

The databases provide options for more precise searching. Below you'll find good choices for finding peer-reviewed articles in the field of sociology.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.
Academic Search Premier includes 4645 magazines and journals in full text, of which 3855 are peer-reviewed. The database indexes and abstracts a total of18,999 magazines & journals.

Help video
System Requirements
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
High-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching.
St. Louis Community College currently participates in the Arts & Sciences Collections I & II, and also subscribes to the following individual journals: The American Biology Teacher, The American Journal of Psychology, American Journal of Sociology, The American Naturalist, Asian Survey, BioScience, Crime and Justice, Current Anthropology, Ethics and the Environment, Feminist Teacher, Film Quarterly, The Journal of Modern History, Osiris, The Quarterly Review of Biology, Signs, and Social Problems.

Tutorials
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from a wide range of disciplines.
Sage Journals Online includes access to scholarly peer-reviewed journals published by Sage and participating societies. There are two ways to limit your search to available full-text articles: start with the Advanced Search page or choose Refine Search after searching, then select “Only content I have full access to.”
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
High-quality, peer-reviewed journal articles in physical science and engineering, health sciences, life sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
ScienceDirect includes more than 2000 journal titles in the collections Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Engineering, and Social Sciences and Humanities. These journals are exclusive to ScienceDirect and not available anywhere else online.

PDF Guide