LibGuides: Popular Music: From Rock to Rap: Background Information

Overview Sources

Overview sources are great tools with which to begin a research project. They may be helpful for obtaining a general overview of a subject, and they may also help in the narrowing of research topics and in placing a topic in the proper context.

Some sources, such as subject dictionaries, will provide an introduction to the specific language of a subject or discipline. Sources may cover a fairly broad subject area or a particular aspect or topic in the discipline.

Entries will often include a bibliography, and they may reference additional related books, articles, documents, and other useful sources.

Print Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians since 1990
ISBN: 0028657993
Publication Date: 2003-10-21
A valuable addition to the "Baker's Biographical Dictionary family, this A-Z biographical reference includes more than 550 entries focusing on artists active from 1990-2003. Individual artists and groups in all popular styles are covered, including those in rock, rhythm and blues, rap, country, electronica, jazz, vocal and crossover classical. Features include select discographies, bibliographies, a glossary of musical terms, a table of best-selling music since 1990 and more.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Stanley Sadie (Editor); John Tyrrell (Editor)
ISBN: 1561592390
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
Since its initial publication in 1980, the Dictionary has been widely acclaimed as an indispensable resource and a classic reference. The word "updated" doesn't begin to describe the thousands of new articles, topics, cross-references, and areas of scholarship incorporated into The New GroveII. Every one of the first edition's 22,500 articles has been reviewed and revised, with thousands of articles expanded. Previously neglected or under-represented areas have been examined, explored, and explained. Movements and topics once deemed too controversial or too far from the mainstream havebeen added. And throughout, 6,500 new articles cover more than 5,000 years of music history, instruments, composers, institutions, performers, genres, and more. The New Grove II takes you beyond the customary and familiar into new worlds with extensive, authoritative contributions on non-Western music. From major influences, such as Latin American music, to less-examined contributions, such as Asian, sub-Saharan African, and Pacific Islander, The New GroveII presents the music, theory, instruments, and musicians that have helped to define music around the world.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library that provides access to a growing selection of reference books.
Online reference library that provides access to a growing selection of reference books. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles from art to accountancy and literature to law. Credo Reference generates a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere within the library.

Credo Reference Subject Guides

Credo Reference is an online reference library that provides access to a growing selection of reference books. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles from art to accountancy and literature to law (and all aspects of popular music!). Credo Reference generates a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere within the library. For example, search "Kurt Cobain," "British Invasion and Music," "electric guitar," or "Rap Music" for articles from a variety of encyclopedias and dictionaries.