Skip to Main Content

Meramec Awards

Award Description

This award honors a full-time faculty member who has consistently demonstrated teaching excellence, an enthusiasm for collaboration and mentorship across all levels of the College community, and evidence of enlightened pedagogical practice in support of the academic aspirations of students. Selected by a campus faculty committee, the honoree speaks to colleagues and the community on the mission and importance of community colleges for the American and global society.


I.Selection Committee:

A campus committee selects the Faculty Lecture Award nominee and is comprised of no fewer than three, and a maximum of five, past recipients of the Faculty Lecture Award, along with the campus President who serves in an ex officio capacity. This group is not a Standing Committee of the Meramec Senate.

II.Committee Activities & Timeline

a.Committee Role:

To solicit nominations for this award from the full-time faculty members that are based on the Meramec campus; to assess and evaluate the received nomination letters of support; and to choose an awardee each year. The members of the committee undertake discussions as a unit and the faculty members of the committee vote and select the candidate for the Faculty Lecture Award.


A notice to Meramec faculty soliciting nominees is distributed via broadcast campus-wide e-mail and through the campus newsletter between the start of the Spring semester and the first week of February, with nomination letters of support being due to the committee by the middle of March. The committee’s choice of the candidate for the Faculty Lecture Award is made by the third week of April, with the selected candidate being notified by the campus President. In accepting the Faculty Lecture Award, the candidate agrees to give a public lecture on campus to the college community during Service Week activities the following January.


Nominees who are eligible for this award must be an under-contract faculty member of full-time continuing status on the Meramec campus, and serving in good standing under the approved policies and procedures of the STLCC district.

IV.Methods of Nomination:

Nominations made by faculty members to the committee should be in the form of a letter of support that indicates the nominator’s familiarity with the nominee and addresses how the nominee comprehensively fulfills the criteria of the Faculty Lecture Award. The method of proper delivery of these nomination letters of support is indicated in the committee’s initial solicitation message, as well as the date by which these nomination letters of support must be received by the committee.

V.Review and Selection:

The committee members review all nomination letters of support and meet to discuss the submissions and the strengths of the nominees. The committee may contact faculty members who make a nomination(s) to provide additional information, if necessary, or to further enlighten the committee on characteristics of an academic unit/discipline or its teaching methods. The selection of a candidate for the Faculty Lecture Award is based on how they align with the criteria of the award, the support and information provided by faculty colleagues, and the deliberations of the committee.

VI.Notification of Award Selection:

Before the end of the Spring semester (usually in late April or early May) the Meramec campus President will contact the faculty member chosen for the Faculty Lecture Award to inform them of their selection and ask them to prepare a lecture that addresses the role and importance of community colleges. If this candidate declines the award, the committee will meet again to select another candidate from the pool of nominees, and the notification process will be repeated, with the new candidate ideally being selected and notified before the end of the Spring semester.

VII.Awards Ceremony:

During Service Week, prior to the start of the Spring academic semester, the Faculty Lecture Awardee presents a lecture to members of the Meramec campus community. This lecture is advertised and open to all in the district and to the local community (if requested by the awardee, the in-person lecture can also be synchronously presented virtually to a larger national/international audience). A suitable forum (location) for this lecture, and the physical award itself, is provided by the Meramec campus.The Faculty Lecture Award has a long, distinguished, and prestigious tradition on the Meramec campus.A gift and a reception for the awardee are recommended to reinforce the award’s significance to the campus communityand to help to foster enhanced campus collegiality and solidarity.

Faculty Lecture Award Recipients

Susan Waugh, Ph.D.,
Professor/English 1988

Mary Sprague, A.B., A.M.,
Professor/Art 1989

David Campbell, D.S.C.,
Professor/Biology 1990

Richard Baker, Ph.D.,
Professor/Political Science 1991

Gerry Welch, M.A.,
Associate Professor/Economics 1992

W. Paul Illert, M.A.,
Associate Professor/Philosophy 1993

Richard Kalfus, Ph.D.,
Professor/Foreign Languages 1994

Sharon Godwin, M.A.,
Professor/Nursing 1995

Joseph F. Dunne, M.A.,
Professor/English 1996

Lillian Seese, M.S.,
Professor/Mathematics 1997

David Tylka, M.S.,
Associate Professor/Biology 1998

Richard Michalski, M.A.,
Professor/English 1999

Linda J. Tiedt, M.S.,
Professor/Physical Education 2000

George Wasson, M.A.,
Professor/Economics 2001

Diane E. Carson, Ph.D.,
Professor/Communications 2002

Bob Allen, M.S., M.F.A.,
Professor/Art 2003

Marco Romero, M.A.,
Assoc. Professor/Foreign Languages 2004

Fredna Scroggins, Ed.D.,
Professor/Behavioral Sciences 2005

Jim Greer, M.A.,
Professor/Communications 2006

Wil Loy, Ph.D.,
Professor/English 2007

V. Anne R. Wessely, M.B.A., C.P.A.,
Professor/Accounting 2008

Dianne Breitwieser, Ph.D.,
Professor/Communications 2009

Larry McDoniel, Ph.D.,
Professor/English 2010

Vicki Ritts, Ph.D.,
Professor/Psychology 2011

Angela Grupas, Ed.D.,
Professor/Communications 2012

Michael Hauser, M.S.,
Professor/Chemistry 2013

Donna J. Werner, Ph.D.,
Professor/Humanities 2014

John Hughes, Ph.D.,
Professor/History 2015

Kelly Ballard, M.A.,
Professor/Mathematics 2016

J. Michelle Rebollo, M.A.,
Professor/Theatre 2017

Julie High, M.S., P.T.,
Professor/Health Services 2018

Gail Heyne Hafer, Ph.D.,
Professor/Economics and Statistics 2019

Michael Swoboda, M.F.A.,
Professor/Graphic Communications 2020

Ana Lúcia de Carvalho Cruz, Ph.D.,
Professor/Education 2021

David Hanlon, M.F.A.,
Professor/Art 2022

No award given

Aaron Champene, Ph.D.,
Professor/Philosophy 2024

Markus Ahrens
Professor of Accounting 2025


St. Louis Community College Libraries

Florissant Valley Campus Library
3400 Pershall Rd.
Ferguson, MO 63135-1408
Phone: 314-513-4514

Forest Park Campus Library
5600 Oakland
St. Louis, MO 63110-1316
Phone: 314-644-9210

Meramec Campus Library
11333 Big Bend Road
St. Louis, MO 63122-5720
Phone: 314-984-7797

Wildwood Campus Library
2645 Generations Drive
Wildwood, MO 63040-1168
Phone: 636-422-2000