Books & Ebooks - COM 101 - Kane - Culture and Communication - 2023

Ebooks

Do a search on the name of your selected county in the Credo Reference database to view many search results from a variety of sources and a visual mind map.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library that provides access to a growing selection of reference books.
Online reference library that provides access to a growing selection of reference books. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles from art to accountancy and literature to law. Credo Reference generates a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere within the library.

Credo Reference Subject Guides

Selected ebook titles from Credo Reference (worth looking up your country within each of these reference ebooks):

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures
Call Number: Ebook from Credo Reference, requires log in from off campus locations
The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality. NOTE: Search for your country of interest in the available "Search within this title" box
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
Call Number: Ebook from Credo Reference, requires log in from off campus locations
Articles provides an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency and commuter marriages. It includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.
NOTE: Search for your country of interest in the available "Search within this title" box

Ebook Central database search example: China AND (customs or culture)

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with tools to find, use, and manage the information.
For help, see the Quick Start Guide.

World Regional Geography: People, Places, and Globilization
OER adapted from a work produced and distributed under a Creative Commons license (CC BY-NC-SA) in 2012 by a publisher who has requested that they and the original author not receive attribution. This adapted edition is produced by the University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing through the eLearning Support Initiative.

An Analysis of Geert Hofstede's Culture's Consequences : Comparing Values, Behaviors, Institutes and Organizations Across Nations by Katherine Erdman
Call Number: Ebook Central (2019): Login required from off-campus locations
The Dutch anthropologist Geert Hofstede is recognized as a pioneer in the fields of international management and social psychology - and his work is a perfect example of the ways in which interpretative skills can help solve problems and provide the foundation for strong thinking and understanding both in business and beyond. Hofstede's central achievement was setting up an efficient interpretative framework for understanding the cultural differences between one country and another. Working for the international computing company IBM in the late 1960s, Hofstede noted that such cultural differences had huge consequences for international organizations.

Selected Titles, Print

At the table: Food and family around the world
Call Number: 394.12 A861, FP-Stacks
Intercultural competence: Interpersonal communication across cultures
Call Number: 303.482 L972i 2018, FP-Circulation Desk-Reserve
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands, Sales and Marketing: the Essential Cultural Guide--From Presentations and Promotions to Communicating and Closing by Terri Morrison; Wayne A. Conaway
Call Number: 658.8 M882k , FP-Stacks
ISBN: 9780071714044
Publication Date: 2011-11-15
Microaggressions in everyday life: Race, gender, and sexual orientation
Call Number: 305 S944m, FV-Stacks

About Books

Reference Books

Reference Books are the best places to find concise summaries and background information on a topic. Reference books cannot be checked out of the library. Some of them are available as databases or ebooks.

Circulating Books

Circulating books (books you can check out) may also provide summaries and background information, but usually go into greater depth about a topic.

Using Books for Research

Using books for research does not always mean that you need to read the entire book.

Use the table of contents and the index to find where in a book information about your topic is located.
The introduction to a book may be a good place to find background information on the topic the book is about.
You should read enough of a book or chapter to understand what an author is saying and quote her correctly.
Sometimes chapters in books are complete works written by different authors, making them ideal for research.

COM 101 - Kane - Culture and Communication - 2023

More Help Finding Books

Renew Books

Suggest a Book