This library guide will help you find reliable information on ancient history, beginning with the earliest civilizations in the Mediterranean and Near East, and continuing through the fall of the Western Roman Empire in the fifth century AD.
"Ancient History Encyclopedia is a non-profit educational website with a global vision: to provide the best ancient history information on the internet for free." Contributors include Master's and PhD-level academics.
On this site, which includes text and images, you can "compare ancient and modern Olympic sports, tour the site of Olympia as it looks today, learn about the context of the Games and the Olympic spirit, or read about the Olympic athletes who were famous in ancient times." The site is a special exhibit within the extensive Perseus Digital Library.
"The Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative (CDLI) represents the efforts of an international group of Assyriologists, museum curators and historians of science to make available through the internet the form and content of cuneiform tablets dating from the beginning of writing, ca. 3350 BC, until the end of the pre-Christian era."
Features links to Egyptological institutions, museums with Egyptian collections, information on digs, online periodicals, publishers, news and discussion lists.
This site is an online encyclopedia of Roman rulers and their families, featuring biographical and historical information, along with family trees. The site also includes descriptions and maps of Roman battles, as well as a link to an information-rich Roman coin page.
A major, online cartographic resource covering all time periods and parts of the world. The historical maps section includes items pertaining to ancient history.
One of the best known and most in-depth online collections of materials on Greek and Roman history, literature and culture. Includes a significant collection of primary and secondary sources, and images of the ancient world.
Full text of works from classical antiquity, freely downloadable and readable on a variety of devices. Almost all of the texts provided are translations into English. Part of broader Project Gutenberg site, featuring over 33,000 e-books.
Comprehensive guide to figures found in Greek mythology, including gods, spirits, animals and heroes. Includes biographies of mythological figures, excerpts from classical texts where figures are discussed, as well Greco-Roman art in which these characters appear.
