Missouri State Board of Nursing Accreditation Visit 2016

Library holdings in Nursing and related disciplines provide a broad range of materials that are relevant to the curriculum. Students have access to over 9,000 nursing, health, and medical-related books and audiovisual materials in the STLCC libraries.  In addition to the core nursing materials, STLCC Libraries have extensive collections of consumer health, health issues, basic science, and career development materials. 

While all librarians may select library materials in all subject areas, it is the liaison’s responsibility to make sure that the library resources for Nursing are current, relevant, and of high quality to meet student needs. Liaison librarians solicit Nursing faculty advice and input into the development of the library collections. Acquisitions are based on the recommendations of nursing faculty, students, staff and librarians. Library liaisons utilize publications such as Doody’s Core Titles in the Health Sciences, other professional publications and publishers’ catalogs to identify and select library resources for nursing. The library nursing liaisons also coordinate weeding (deletion) of out-of-date materials with input from the nursing faculty. Nursing faculty are encouraged to review library holdings to ensure clinical accuracy of content.

The library faculty meet monthly across the campuses to discuss and coordinate library matters, including the recommendation of subscriptions to online sources which are available to all campuses. 

STLCC Libraries provide print journals and other periodicals in support of the Nursing curriculum.  Students also have access to periodicals via online databases. Our online Journal Locator, available on the STLCC Libraries web page, currently lists 381 periodicals in the Nursing category. Included in this list are the 58 core nursing journals that STLCC subscribes to as part of the STLCC Nursing Journals @ Ovid database (see Additional Information for a list of these titles). These periodicals are available to students in full-text through at least one of our databases, or in print form at one or more of the campus libraries. 

Through the STLCC Libraries website (http://stlcc.edu/libraries), Nursing students have 24/7 access to the STLCC Libraries catalog, article databases, full-text e-books, journal articles, streaming video and all other electronic educational materials.

STLCC Libraries subscribe to well over 100 online databases and provide access to several substantive collections of electronic books. Nursing students have access to a number of health and science-related databases including Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature with Full Text (CINAHL); Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition; Health Source: Consumer Edition; Nursing @ Ovid; Cochrane Library; ScienceDirect Health and Life Sciences Journals; and PubMed. Full text access is also available to numerous journal articles online; this expands the library’s periodical holdings.

In addition to the periodical databases, STLCC Libraries provide Nursing students with access to online reference books through Credo Reference,  Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Salem Health; and test preparation materials including NCLEX review books and practice tests through Learning Express Library. The images in Anatomy TV are accompanied by three-dimensional animations that demonstrate function, biomechanics and surgical procedures. Supplementing the core three-dimensional anatomy data are clinical videos and text written by some of the world's leading medical specialists. Films on Demand provides documentary and educational films ranging from short film clips to full feature-length films, including over 2900 in the Health and Medicine subject category.

A complete list of Health and Medicine related databases can be viewed at https://www.stlcc.edu/libraries/db/index.asp?by=2&q=8

STLCC Libraries hold audiovisual materials in a variety of formats. While our physical collections (DVD, VHS) have shrunk as materials and formats have become outdated, the libraries have acquired a substantial amount of streaming media databases that include content specific to health sciences and nursing.  Prior to purchasing streaming collections, we run college-wide trials and actively solicit both faculty and student input. For a complete list of streaming video databases available from STLCC Libraries, see http://guides.stlcc.edu/streamingmedia. Many of the Nursing videos are available through the Films on Demand database. 

In addition to the Nursing materials described above, the STLCC Libraries hold extensive collections in a number of related subject areas, including allied health, consumer health, ethical issues and public policy. Our collections cover areas of basic science including anatomy, physiology, chemistry, pharmacology and microbiology.

STLCC Libraries also offer information on educational opportunities, scholarships, occupational choices, and job-seeking skills. Special databases are available to help in choosing an appropriate college or career. Two research guides, Choosing and Paying for College and Career and Employment Resources offer students an array of resources. Examples of Nursing materials include licensure exam preparation review books and online practice tests; career guides for Nursing students and graduates, information on other academic institutions and admission tests/requirements; resume and interview materials for health care careers, as well as Internet sites for Nursing-related organizations and associations. New library materials are added to the collection on an ongoing basis.