LibGuides: Nursing: Journals by Title

STLCC Nursing Journals & Magazines by Title

The best way to search for nursing articles on a subject is to use the library databases. The links on this page are for when you are tracking down a citation or want to see articles from a specific journal.

Nursing in STLCC Publication Finder (STLCC login required for full text))
These journals are available through the STLCC library databases and/or in print at a campus library. Use the "Refine Results" filter on the left to narrow by a more specific subject area.

Examples:

The Journal of Nursing Education
MedSurg Nursing
Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!
This unique journal entertains and enlightens while paying close attention to the learning process, offering tips for improving recall, highlighting must-know information, and testing learning in a nonthreatening way. Nursing made Incredibly Easy! is dedicated to the "get the gain of learning, but without the pain" approach to teaching or reinforcing important clinical skills and concepts.

STLCC Journals @ Ovid: List of Journal Titles.

STLCC Libraries subscribe to these journals through the Ovid database. Open the Ovid database and click on Journals at the top for direct links to the full text of each journal.

Advanced Emergency Nursing Journal
Advances in Neonatal Care
Advances in Nursing Science
Advances in Skin & Wound Care
AJN, American Journal of Nursing
Cancer Nursing
CIN: Computers, Informatics, Nursing
Clinical Nurse Specialist
Critical Care Nursing Quarterly
Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing
Family & Community Health
Gastroenterology Nursing
Health Care Management Review
Holistic Nursing Practice
Home Healthcare Now
JBI Evidence Synthesis
Journal for Nurses in Professional Development
Journal of Addictions Nursing
Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing
Journal of Christian Nursing
Journal of Hospice & Palliative Nursing
Journal of Infusion Nursing
The Journal of Nursing Administration
Journal of Nursing Care Quality
Journal of Patient Safety
Journal of Perinatal & Neonatal Nursing
Journal of the Dermatology Nurses' Association
Journal of Trauma Nursing
Journal of Wound, Ostomy & Continence Nursing
MCN, American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing
Nurse Educator
Nurse Practitioner
Nursing
Nursing Administration Quarterly
Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!
Nursing Management
Nursing Research
Nutrition Today
Orthopaedic Nursing
Plastic and Aesthetic Nursing
Professional Case Management

This list includes ongoing current subscriptions. Updated May 2023.

Medical & Nursing Magazines & Journals on the Web

Not many nursing journals are available online for free! Some of the ones listed here focus on nursing, while others primarily cover health and medicine and may include some nursing topics as well. If you need an article that is not available for free or in one of the library databases, use the Document Delivery request form below.

Nursing Open
An open-access, peer-reviewed nursing journal from Wiley.
Online Journal of Issues in Nursing
OJIN is a peer-reviewed online journal hosted by the American Nurses Association. This online resource publishes articles about nursing research, education and practices. OJIN is free and available to anyone working in the healthcare field.
Nurse.com Blog
Magazine-style articles and nursing news
Nursing Standard Online (UK)
Nursing Times (UK)
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
MMWR is published by the CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) and is under public domain. Public health reports, articles and current statistical data are provided, along with health recommendations, educational resources, and infographics.
JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association
Some articles are free online; others are not.
New England Journal of Medicine
STLCC login required for full access.
PLoS Medicine
"...PLOS Medicine publishes articles of general interest on biomedical, environmental, social and political determinants of health. The journal emphasizes work that advances clinical practice, health policy or pathophysiological understanding to benefit health in a variety of settings." Open Access

Document Delivery

Document Delivery / Interlibrary Loan
Use this form to request articles that are not available full-text from the STLCC Library databases.