Transcript Analysis: Group 2

Patron: Where can I find scholarly articles about Othello?

 

Librarian: Hello X - I am connecting to your library website to see what resources are available to you - one moment...I'll be right back...

 

Librarian: I see that your library has access to Literature Resource Center. Can you tell me a little more about the kind of articles you need?

 

Patron: Ok. Thank you.

 

Patron: Sure. I want articles that focouse on Othello and power in Venetian society.

 

Librarian: Literature Resource Center is a database that provides full-text content on literary topics beyond just articles. Some of the resources are critical essays that are drawn from a variety of sources. Would those be considered "scholarly articles" for this assignment? Did your instructor give you an explanation of what they consider to be the qualities of a scholarly article?

 

Patron: My teacher was not specific about what kind of scholarly articles we can use.

 

Patron: My teacher just told us that we need to use three scholarly articles in our research paper about Othello.

 

Librarian: I will tell you how I did a search in Literature Resource Center and give you an example of a result and you can tell me if this fits your requirements

 

Patron: Ok. Sounds good

 

Librarian: I'll do it step by step so you can follow along. When I accessed Literature Resource Center (on your library's web site under Research) http://www.pasadena.edu/library/research.cfm

 

Librarian: I chose Find Article/Databases and then selected databases by subject, literature, Literature Resource Center.

 

Librarian: Using Advanced Search, I simply entered the title of work = Othello

 

Patron: ok

 

Librarian: Ater I got back a large result set, I used the "search within these results" feature in the upper left and entered power and society as search terms

 

Librarian: Because of the content in this database, not every result is an article but all results have a description on the right. Some of the ones tagged as critical essays, however, are also articles.

 

Patron: I see. Ok

 

Librarian: I choose the result "Shakespeare's Moor" by Millicent Bell. Raritan 21.4 (Spring 2002): p1-14.

 

Librarian: The abstract describes the content as...In the following essay, Bell explores the racial dynamics of Othello's character and contends that he ultimately suffers from his inability to completely assimilate into a community that deems him a racial outsider.

 

Patron: I see.

 

Librarian: some of the results are clearly just overviews of the work, or brief excerpts of criticism but if you dig into the results, you will find some that are scholarly work.

 

Patron: ok. Thanks

 

Librarian: Could you link successfully to the full text of the article that I sent as an example? does it work for your assignment topic?

 

Patron: I am not sure what you did when you searched again the second time. Can you please go over that again. Thank you.

 

Librarian: After you get back your search results, there are tabs across the top indicating what category the result falls in like "literary criticism", "biography"... but all the way on the left top corner there is a box for searching that is marked as "search within these results"

 

Patron: I see. Found it. Thanks

 

Patron: I was able to acess the full text. This sounds like it could be useful in my paper.

 

Librarian: I used the subject link to databases to pick Literature Resource Center. Your library also provides a guide to help with searching for literary criticism at http://www.pasadena.edu/library/Guides/LiteratureCriticism.cfm

 

Librarian: I see under their list of general databases you can also use a database called Project Muse. You may find it helpful to try using the same terms -- Othello, power, society, -- to search in that database. It is flagged as "all articles are scholarly" by your librarians.

 

Patron: Ok I will check that out also.

 

Librarian: has this given you enough information to get started on finding the articles you need: Patron: yes, thank you so much for all your help

 

Librarian: If you have additional questions as you are doing your research, just pose your question again. Happy to be able to help.

 

Librarian: Librarian ended chat session

Patron: how long before a new released book can be taken out for longer than 7 days

 

Librarian: Hello, my name is John

 

Librarian: I am a librarian in Virginia. I am helping your librarians staff this service.

 

Patron: ok thank you

 

Librarian: Still 7 days, won't be changed for the forseeable future

 

Patron: I know but how long does a book have to be on the shelf until you can take it out longer

 

Librarian: I don't know

 

Patron: ok...I guess I'll have to talk to my librarian

 

Librarian: You're welcome, do you need anything else?

 

Librarian: It has been a pleasure chatting with you. Thank you for using Ask Us 24/7!

 

Librarian: Librarian ended chat session.